Longanpo was situated at the northern side of Taipei Basin during the Qing Dynasty, near the mountainous area, where immigrants from Anxi of Fujian Quanzhou Prefecture found their permanent home. Ancestors of the Huang family came to Taiwan during the Qianlong reign of the Qing Dynasty (1740), and first resided in Danshui’s Fanshuliao, before moving to Taipei Basin. The brothers from the fourth generation of the family built the house, which is today’s Lianrang Estate. Lianrang Estate was built in 1897, three years into the Japanese colonial period; exquisite building materials were used for erecting the estate. The house faces south and is surrounded by paddy fields. This red brick courtyard house among paddy fields is a typical Taiwan’s traditional farm house. This setting is also called “guardian dragons at the front of the house”. When the house was initially built, the left and right guardian dragons were the only mythical structures built. The outer guardian dragons were added when the house was extended later. The red bricks used were made in Taiwan, as they have better quality, richer red color and better workmanship. It has a double-pitched roof, and the ridge of the roof has a gentle curve, reflecting simplicity and unadornedness. The exquisite wooden carvings in the main hall is well-preserved. The unique materials and decoration bear the transitional characteristics of Taipei City’s century-old extant old farm house, from the Late Qing to early Japanese colonial period.